Fates Warning – No Exit

Save for the twenty one minute long ‘Ivory Gate of Dreams,’ there isn’t too much of a progressive theme to be found on this album. There is certainly some progressiveness to the other songs, but that’s the song that gives this release such a ground breaking element to it. Until then, there really wasn’t too much of a progressive metal scene going on. Having a song cycle of such epic proportions thrown into a genre that was generally (at the time) about drinking, women and drugs was quite a shock to the system.

However, everything considered, I’m still not a big Fates Warning fan. I find Ray Alder is a technically accomplished vocalist, but I simply don’t like his voice all too much. This might be however, a result of my other major problem with the band; their lack of attention to actual melody. The vocal melodies on this album (and alot of Fates Warning’s other work) seem like they were just put in for the sake of having a singer. Some of the acoustic parts of ‘The Ivory Gate of Dreams’ however offer an exception to this, which is always a refreshing change to listen to.

The aforementioned epic is a real journey through many different emotions; melancholy through rage. It’s very surreal and while I didn’t really think it worked especially well altogether on my first few listens, months after buying, I realized that there are so many recurring themes that weave their way through the music that make it a sort of song cycle you have to listen to from start-to-finish to really get a kick out of it.

The other tracks on the album range from very good to mediocre. The epynomous intro to the album segues into the most memorable ‘single’ track on the album, ‘Anarchy Divine,’ with some absolutely amazing guitar solos. ‘Silent Cries’ doesn’t do much for me, but the other two songs have some very cool moments, especially the fifth track before the epic begins, ‘Shades Of Heavenly Death.’

This album would probably interest metal fans more than actual prog fans, but seeing as I am both, it’s definately not a poor addition to my collection. While I would certainly not compare it to the stands of Dream Theaters ‘Scenes From A Memory’ or Symphony X’s ‘New Mythology Suite,’ it’s definately a good listen. Think an American, more progressive version of Iron Maiden.


1. No Exit (0:41)
2. Anarchy Divine (3:46)
3. Silent Cries (3:17)
4. In A Word (4:25)
5. Shades Of Heavenly Death (5:57)
6. The Ivory Gate Of Dreams (21:58)


* Ray Alder – vocals
* Frank Aresti – guitar
* Joe DiBiase – bass
* Jim Matheos – guitar
* Steve Zimmerman – drums, percussion

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: