Album Review: The Shadow Principle – Oblivion

The Shadow Principle - Oblivion

The Shadow Principle, a band Los Angeles, have released their sophomore studio album Oblivion in July.

The quartet ties together elements of metal and punk into their sound, and for 2016 they do it on a very high level. The transit themes of the comings and goings of everyday life are some of the motifs that spiral throughout the 10-track album. Also, rolling with the high-energized concepts, there are hints of the band striving to fulfil a bigger sound. There are instances where it looks like The Shadow Principle is attempting to fill their songs with a more classic rock approach to their music. In this case, this works in a more expansive way to fulfil their themes whilst melding title to track.

“Minutae” opens Oblivion on a high note with sounds that don’t spiral out of control. There is an order to the pacing and everything is executed in excruciating detail. The music comes off as clear and concise, yet with a slight hesitation to let loose that comes off as a bit strained. But once the vocals come around, this seems to set the band at ease and everything comes across as more rhythmic. The rock anthem soars with vocals of Nohl Takahashi.

The Shadow Principle

“When The Sun Appears” comes off as rather intense, what has to do with power chords transition, courtesy of Reza Moosavi, and Takahashi’s powerful singing. Rhythm section comprised of bassist Dave Tomkins and drummer Kurt Berens is nothing less powerful in providing the strong backbone through the over-the-top bass lines and heavy hitting. Listeners will catch the exciting sounds of the high-powered chorus in “Phanton Satellite,” “Stand Down,” and “Starless Skies.”

The longest piece on the album, “Byzantium,” brings diversity to the sound of the album, focusing more on the atmosphere but also retaining energy of the past songs.

Closing “The Passenger” comes along with the psychedelic vibe emphasised throughout its almost five minutes. The song more or less fades out into oblivion, savoring the title of the record.

The Shadow Principle’s template of hard work and uplifting crossover rock music with elements of punk and metal works. This has allowed for them to own their own sound, instead of tapering off sounds from other bands that reside in the similar circles. Their music is uniquely theirs and is a great find for someone looking for more edgy take on the rock music.


1. Minutiae
2. When the Sun Appears
3. Phantom Satellite
4. Headstrong
5. Stand Down
6. Starless Skies
7. Byzantium
8. Dead Walking
9. Brutal Muse
10. The Passenger


* Kurt Berens- drums
* Reza Moosavi- guitar
* Nohl Takahashi – vocals
* Dave Tomkins – bass, vocals




Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: