My Brother The Wind – Twilight in the Crystal Cabinet

If someone told me at the beginning of the year that I would consider an album that was recorded  and mixed in four hours to be one of the best of 2010, I would probably laugh to death. But, after listening to this album, I wouldn’t feel ashamed to accept that I was wrong, because My Brother The Wind, a band consisting of Anekdoten‘s Nicklas Barker, Makajodama‘s Mathias Danielsson, and Magnolia‘s Ronny Eriksson and Tomas Eriksson, made and brilliant achievement that would probably make even the worst pessimist believe in the impossible.

Our readers followers might know that we hade two separate interviews with the MBTW duo Nicklas Barker / Mathias Danielsson, where they have been telling us about the band’s background, its influences and other details.

These 4 guys have in succeeded harnessing the raw and wild energy of jamming and turn it into something that is going to be considered one of the high points of the genre in 2010.

Musically, hearing these six songs again and again is truly no passive experience. Certainly you will find in their performance a quality that forces you to listen carefully. At the other side, you can’t know what’s coming next, nothing is ever predictable, and a listener can go from track to track with no danger of fatigue setting in. The songs are in a constant state of transformation, floating energy mixes with melodies, rhythmic transfusions and familiarity with all the tunes. You will be astonished at how comfortable it is having those circling of melodies surround you, but they will take care to break it off unexpectedly and leave you to ask yourself “what just happened?”

It would be ungrateful to compare My Brother The Wind’s music with any of the former or actual representatives of the psychedelic/space/kraut/prog rock genre, due to its members’ wide influences, but let me say that they successfully pull out the best of Gila, Agitation Free, Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, Can, Hawkwind, and more.

And I’ll cut here any further talking about this album, as I will give you detailed analysis of it, meaning track-by-track, at the end of the year when I discuss my favorite albums of 2010.

It remains to tell that I hope that this album is not going to show up as a oneshot, because I am sure that such a group of musicians has much more to give. Let’s see what the rest of 2010 will bring, but this album certainly sticks in AT THE VERY LEAST, the top 5, in my opinion.


01. Karmagrinder

02. Electric Universe

03. Twilight in the Crystal Cabinet

04. Precious Sanity

05. The Mournful Howl of Dawn

06. Death and Beyond


* Nicklas Barker – guitar

* Mathias Danielsson – guitar

* Ronny Eriksson – bass

* Tomas Eriksson – drums


My Brother The Wind @ MySpace

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: