Milk White Throat – Milk White Throat

Milk White Throat is a group of musicians doing what they can with what they’ve got. And they do a lot with what they’ve got. If their influences would be football players, MWT club would always be a contender for winning the title. Ranging from Neurosis, Ulver, Decapitated and Devin Townsend at the first side to Pain of Salvation, The Mars Volta, Yes and Pink Floyd at the other side, and a weird hybrid of Deathspell Omega and Frank Zappa in the middle – these Brighton based heavyweights have pretty strong combination of hits to offer.

These five tracks which comprise the band’s selftitled album, which is available as a digital download here, show off the boldfaced maturity of these Brightonians. By listening to the album song by song, I’m starting to get disgusted by what trash is released while fine work like this stays unnoticed. What is this world coming to?

Milk White Throat is not lacking for quality in any segments, and I would say that their exactness and creativity is yet to be exploited. Along with the experimental progression which kicks off with Home, there are plenty of various elements to be heard. And employing various elements in today’s understanding of a term “progressive” became a cliché. The aggregation of many genre labels into one doesn’t necessarily mean a success. Weighing of the genres percentage ratio is anything like a chemical calculation. No one would love too much carbon dioxide.

Luckily, Milk White Throat overdosing wouldn’t cause any bigger and permanent consequences (at least, it shouldn’t happen), the guys are deliberatable in their endeavors to find a remarkable tone in their sound. And for that, they face a bright future.


01. Home
02. …
03. Mother I
04. On the Road
05. Still


* Tom Humphrey – electric guitar, vocals
* Tom Bates – electric guitar
* Will Gardner – saxophone, vocals
* Gareth Harwood – keyboard, samples
* Guillaume Croizon – drumset
* Brian Thomas – electric bass guitar, vocals


Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: