The Mercury Tree – Permutations

The Mercury Tree - Permutations

The Mercury Tree are another of those bands that create great music but they do not get enough recognition for that. The unique mix of progressive rock, post-metal, math rock, experimental and spacey psychedelia is what this trio from Portland are known for since the release of their debut EP back in 2007, and it’s something that they continue to do with their new release titled Permutations. The band obviously doesn’t give a damn about any stylistic limitations in their music, and although their tracks are rather lengthy it gives them enough time and space to make different experiments.

Since the beginning and the opening piece “Symptoms” this album promises a lot, and it turns out not to be just an empty promise. From the introducing riff the energy of the tune grabs you and doesn’t let you until its last bit. The album continues its journey with the longest track “Permutations” which brings phenomenal guitar parts developed around the main riff. Guitar work by Ben Spees and his voice make a huge difference here, but let’s not forget to mention exceptional work by the rhythm section comprised from Connor Reilly on drums and Oliver Campbell on bass. Another highlight in the series of highlights this album delivers — this tune includes all strong points. The song, and it could be said for the album in whole, changes the pace and the moods very smoothly.

In these ten songs The Mercury Tree present all its skills, and there are so many of them. These three guys create music in its most complex and most enjoyable form. With Permutations they offer a tremendous work that takes you in their world, and once you are there you will not want to get out.

Order Permutations from Bandcamp, and follow The Mercury Tree on Facebook. Visit the band’s website here.


1. Symptoms 06:59
2. Exhume the Worst 04:56
3. Permutations 10:42
4. Ether/Ore 04:08
5. Placeholder 04:32
6. Unintelligible 05:06
7. Sympathesizer 04:42 video
8. Seek and Release 05:46
9. Prometheist 09:00
10. Deep Five 10:32


* Ben Spees – vocals, guitar, keyboards
* Connor Reilly – drums
* Oliver Campbell – bass, voice

with special guests:

* Aaron Clark – space guitar (7, 10)
* Tony Mowe – alto and baritone saxophone (4, 7)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: