Album Review: Glory of the Supervenient – Glory of the Supervenient

Glory of the Supervenient - Glory of the Supervenient

Glory of the Supervenient is a new project coming from Italy who are about to release their debut self-titled full length. This fully instrumental project is led by composer Andrea Bruzzone, whose main instrument is drums, but on the band’s debut self-titled full-length he manages to play a number of virtual instruments throughout the eleven-track release.

As is the case with most instrumental albums, Glory of the Supervenient requires careful listening in order to be fully appreciated. It is definitely not the kind of stuff you can put on as a soundtrack for other activities – complex music, full of twists and turns, yet not unnecessarily complicated, or weird for weirdness’ sake. In fact, the music has a beautiful, natural flow, a clarity and melodic quality. Even though guitars make up a prominent part of the sound, they never get to the point of overwhelming the other instruments. As in most experimental music, however, the foundation of  Glory of the Supervenient’s sound lies in the rhythm section, especially in the jaw-dropping drumming patterns provided by Bruzzone.

Head-spinningly complex without being cold and sterile as other efforts in a similar vein, Glory of the Supervenient can easily be listed as one of the top releases of 2016. In fact, the sterling musicianship, coupled with an admirable sense of restraint, focuses on creating cohesive, highly listenable tracks rather than pointless displays of technical skill. However,  it is also an album that will definitely not be everyone’s cup of tea. Strongly recommended to practising musicians and fans of intricate, challenging music, it may come across as daunting to those fans who prefer a higher measure of melody and accessibility, as well as a more conservative approach to progressive rock.

What is definitely a great thing about the project is that it recently transformed from a studio unit to a band, determined to bring these tracks into life. And that opens a totally new world for exploring.


1. I: The Destiny
2. Flexing The Inflexible
3. Identities
4. Infinite Tangles
5. Through The Circles
6. Encountering The Encounterer
7. Firewood/Ash
8. Isolated Earth
9. The Background
10. Connections
11. Path Of The Night


1 Comment

  1. Stefan Georgiev Andonov

    October 10, 2016 at 10:21 pm

    That is some very good music

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: