Fates Warning – Inside Out (Reissue)

In series of re-releasing the older outputs of one of the most revered names in Metal Blade roster Fates Warning, the time has come to give Inside Out the new treatment and the album has been given new nice life with this rich package that is true “value for money“ deal so if even you already have the original edition you would be tempted to buy this 2012′s re-release, but let’s go one step at a time…

CD1 contains the remastered edition of original album that came out in 1994 and represented the logical successor to 1991’s Parallels, the album that represented more concise of song oriented Fates Warning. As I have said, Inside Out is natural successor with its more song oriented approach so it could be even called non prog metal from prog metallers – it still carries the intricate playing that will be spotted if you take a closer look but the main focus is on power of melancholic strong songs. The metal side is, truth be told, slightly more aggressive than on Parallels but the album still possesses its fair share of calmer moments that seems to overtake the final mood. Inside Out is very nicely rounded but it asks for a bit more time, so repeated listening sessions will fully display its beauty; this one was always somehow not enough appreciated as it is sandwiched between two huge Fates Warning albums Parallels and A pleasant shade of gray so maybe with this new life it will get the attention it rightfully deserves.

The second CD is where you will find never heard before treats: first there are recordings of 5 songs from Dusseldorf 1995 from the promotional tour for Inside Out, 3 songs from that one and two older hits from Parallels – truth be told, the sound quality is not perfect but one can hear that the playing is impeccable and anyway it is cool to have one document from that time. Further on, we can hear 6 demo songs for Inside Out and the second CD is closed with Circles, previously unreleased track that fits like a glove with the main album. DVD contains various live goodies and interviews but since I haven’t received that segment of this re-release I can’t talk much about it.

All in all, Inside Out is for sure one killer classic that deserved this new package so if you still don’t have it or haven’t heard it yet now is the good time to atone for your sins!


Disc 01

  1. Outside Looking In (Remastered)
  2. Pale Fire (Remastered)
  3. The Strand (Remastered)
  4. Shelter Me (Remastered)
  5. Island in the Stream (Remastered)
  6. Down to the Wire (Remastered)
  7. Face the Fear (Remastered)
  8. Inward Bound (Remastered)
  9. Monument (Remastered)
  10. Afterglow (Remastered)

Disc 02

  1. Outside Looking In (Live)
  2. Down to the Wire (Live)
  3. The Eleventh Hour (Live)
  4. Point of View (Live)
  5. Face the Fear (Live)
  6. Outside Looking In (Demo)
  7. Pale Fire (Demo)
  8. Shelter Me (Demo)
  9. Island in the Stream (Demo)
  10. Face the Fear (Demo)
  11. Monument (Rough Mix)
  12. Circles (Demo)


  1. Outside Looking In (1994/1995)
  2. Pale Fire (1993/1994)
  3. The Strand (1994)
  4. Shelter Me (1993)
  5. Island In The Stream (2010)
  6. Down To The Wire (1994/1995)
  7. Face The Fear (1994/1995)
  8. Monument (1994/1995)
  9. Afterglow (Slide Show)


  1. Live In Still Water (1994)
  2. Through Different Eyes (1995)
  3. Guardian (Mike Portnoy Drums) (1994)
  4. Shades of Heavenly Death (1995)
  5. MTV Europe Interview (1995)
  6. Eye to Eye (1994/1995)
  7. Face The Face Of Fear (1994)
  8. Don’t Follow Me (1994)
  9. Shortest Show Ever (1994)
  10. Guardian (Arch/ Alder Duet) (1994)


* Ray Alder – vocals
* Jim Matheos – guitar
* Frank Aresti – guitar
* Joe DiBiase – bass
* Mark Zonder – drums & percussion



Originally posted on Metal Sound

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: