WITHERSCAPE to Release “The New Tomorrow” EP in December

Witherscape - The New Tomorrow

Witherscape, the stunning new dark metal outfit formed by Swedish singer, multi-instrumentalist and producer extraordinaire Dan Swanö (ex-Edge Of Sanity/Bloodbath, Nightingale, etc.) together with fellow Swedish multi-instrumentalist Ragnar Widerberg, are about to release the EP The New Tomorrow via Century Media Records on December 8th, 2014.

Succeeding last year’s acclaimed debut album The Inheritance, which was voted “album of the month” by Germany’s Rock Hard magazine and also entered the official sales charts in Germany on position # 97 upon release, the new EP marks a conceptual and musical bridge between the thick concept of the debut and their upcoming sophomore album, expected for a late 2015 release.

Here is the tracklisting of the EP:

Witherscape - The New Tomorrow EP track listing:

1. The New Tomorrow (4:42)
2. Defenders Of Creation (4:27)
3. A World Without Heroes (2:36)
4. Out In The Cold (6:35)
5. Dead For Another Day (4:40)

The New Tomorrow contains 5 unreleased songs:

  • A brand new (title) track, 3 cover songs (Defenders Of Creation by Warrior, A World Without Heroes by Kiss and Out In The Cold by Judas Priest) and Dead For Another Day (an extension of the debut album’s Dead For A Day single).

Its CD version (10 tracks) will also include special vinyl-mix versions of the same songs as bonus and the Digital Download version:

  • 7 tracks – includes another 2 bonus cover songs (A Cry For Everyone by Gentle Giant and Last Rose Of Summer by Judas Priest) from the sessions of The Inheritance, which are so far digitally unreleased.

The 12” vinyl version of the EP is playable on 45rpm, will be pressed on 180 gr. vinyl and comes either as standard black edition or in the following limited coloured options: Gold (100x, via CM Distro Europe), Transparent Red (200x, via CM Distro Europe) or Neon Orange (100x, via CM Distro USA).

Pre-orders will be available soon from: www.cmdistro.com

Witherscape’s Dan Swanö checked in to comment on the release as follows: “The new track The New Tomorrow is introducing the new main character, “mannen i vitt” (“The man in white”) and the storyline revolves around his quest for the meaning of life and how he wants to make a difference in the world of the forsaken. It is 1950 and he finds this wonderful estate up north and buys it at an auction. He begins the work to turn it into a sanctuary for ones with broken spirits or other disabilities, who need to escape the ever-growing stress of the big city life. The plot will continue on the 2nd full length Witherscape album, which will hopefully be out at the end of 2015.

The cover versions were chosen because they are songs that resonate with us at their very core, but didn’t necessarily have – in our humble opinion – the production or performance to portray their full glory. We gave them the Witherscape treatment and learned a lot from analyzing, performing and recording them. And we will bring that experience with us into the writing for the 2nd album.

The re-make of Dead For A Day called Dead For Another Day was born out of the idea to let Witherscape make a Witherscape cover and remove all things death and metal to see what it would sound like. We fell in love with the new approach and decided to include it on the EP to show the versatility that can be expected from this band!”

Witherscape line-up:

* Dan Swanö – vocals, drums and keyboards
* Ragnar Widerberg – guitars and bass

Witherscape discography:

The Inheritance – 2013
The New Tomorrow – EP 2014

Witherscape online:


Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: