THE TANGENT Released Their New Album “Le Sacre Du Travail (The Rite Of Work)”


The seventh studio album from The Tangent, entitled Le Sacre Du Travail (The Rite Of Work) is released and the band-leader Andy Tillison has given this message to fans:

“The Tangent celebrate 10 years as a going concern – and 10 years with our fantastic label InsideOut, – with the release of the 7th studio album “Le Sacre Du Travail”, an album which is (in all honesty) written for everyone. We hope that people will enjoy it, give it the time we think it deserves to digest – and see it as further proof that Progressive Rock Music is still very much alive in the world and ready to play a positive role NOW in 2013 and beyond. We thank everyone who believed in this huge project and brought it this far, from the record company boss to the fans who pre-ordered it and made it happen. We believe that this is our best album in those ten years. Here’s to the next 10″

In the run-up to the album’s release, two edits of tracks taken from said album were released to wet fans appetites, and links to those can be found below:

Steve Wright In The Afternoon (edit)
Evening TV (edit) -

The Tangent have also released a teaser trailer for the upcoming album, which gives a rundown of all the musicians feature on Le Sacre Du Travail (The Rite Of Work). You can find that video HERE!

The album is the group’s first fully blown “concept album” but band-leader Andy Tillison is keen to point out that this concept is something that involves all of us now rather than a rambling fiction.
Formed from a single hour long piece of music in 5 movements and referred to by the band as “An Electric Sinfonia” based around a working day of a typical Western-world citizen, the album has a very personal feel. It’s highly orchestral and 20th century classical in tone, very much inspired by Stravinsky’s The Rite Of Spring. Described by INSIDEOUT CEO Thomas Waber as “A very mature album” with “Stellar Musicianship” – this album sees the lineup of The Tangent revert to an earlier formation, Andy Tillison (composer/keyboards/singer) again bringing on board Jonas Reingold on bass (The Flower Kings, Karmakanic), Jakko M Jakszyk on guitar & vocals (King Crimson, Level 42), Theo Travis on wind instruments (Soft Machine, Steve Wilson Band) with the new additions of Gavin Harrison on drums (Porcupine Tree) & David Longdon on vocal harmonies (Big Big Train). In addition there are cameo appearances by Rikard Sjoblom (Beardfish) and Guy Manning amongst others.

The album is also now available to order through the InsideOut Music webshop on limited edition CD -


Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: