STEVE HACKETT Releases “Wolflight” Trailer

Steve Hackett

Steve Hackett has announced the release of his new solo album “Wolflight.” According to the man himself, this “wild pack of tracks – starting with a wolf cry – will be unleashed on the unsuspecting on 30th March 2015.

A teaser trailer for the album, featuring the first exciting snippets of new music plus some insight from Steve himself, can be viewed below.

From a plaintive wolf cry to Steve embracing real wolves, exploring dark caverns, ancient ruins and tropical lagoons, primal energy is at the root of this album as a springboard to an exotic and exciting adventure.

The album will be released on the following formats:

Special edition CD+Blu-ray Mediabook incl. 5.1 mix, interviews & two bonus tracks
Standard CD jewelcase
2LP Gatefold vinyl
Digital download

Wolflight” is Hackett‘s first original solo studio album since “Beyond The Shrouded Horizon” in 2011. Primal and orchestral, it retains the Hackett trademark as electric guitar runs right the way through with a regular sprinkling of acoustic. The concept behind it is a new unexplored chapter in the guitarist’s career.

The ten tracks take the listener through a journey in space and time looking at the different faces of the endless fight for freedom. Wandering between parallel universes, Hackett explores contemporary and ancient cultures, from Greece (Corycian Fire) to the Far East (Wolflight), the USA and Martin Luther King (Black Thunder), but also his very own childhood memories (The Wheel’s Turning) and the unresolved drama of domestic violence (Love Song to a Vampire).

An excited Steve Hackett tells us more about the record: “My new rock album Wolflight is at the ready and lying in wait. It reflects everybody’s struggle for freedom on a journey travelling through both inner and outer space. It explores sounds from as far afield as Greece, Azerbaijan, the deep American South, Sahara desert and beyond, from all our yesterdays, evoking the ancient past.

Steve Hackett‘s electric guitar plays a powerful role, whilst we also hear him on acoustic guitar, Arabian lute and twelve string, along with his strong lead vocals. Guest musicians include long time collaborators Roger King (keyboards & programming), Gary O’Toole (drums), Rob Townsend (sax, duduk), Nick Beggs (bass & stick) and Amanda Lehmann (harmony vocals). Malik Mansurov on tar and Sara Kovaks on didgeridoo add an extra exotic element, plus YES bassist Chris Squire plays on “Love Song to a Vampire” and Hugo Dagenhardt plays drums on “Dust and Dreams.” The innovative song writing team includes Steve Hackett, his wife Jo Hackett and also Roger King.

The track-listing for the album is as follows:

1. Out of the Body
2. Wolflight
3. Love Song to a Vampire
4. The Wheel’s Turning
5. Corycian Fire
6. Earthshine
7. Loving Sea
8. Black Thunder
9. Dust and Dreams
10. Heart Song

Hackett will embark upon his Acolyte To Wolflight with Genesis Revisited Tour in October 2015, with 19 UK shows. Hackett states: “I’m excited to embrace Genesis Revisited once more on my tour whilst also celebrating 40 years of Voyage of the Acolyte, playing several Hackett favourites and introducing my new Wolflight album.

Dates are as follows:
6 October – GLive, Guildford, UK
7 October – O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London, UK
9 October – Derngate, Northampton, UK
10 October – St David’s Hall, Cardiff, UK
11 October – O2 Guildhall, Southampton, UK
13 October – The Anvil, Basingstoke, UK
14 October – Barbican, York, UK
16 October – Music Hall, Aberdeen, UK
17 October – The Sage, Gateshead, UK
18 October – Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow, UK
20 October – Town Hall, Leeds, UK
21 October – Venue Cymru, Llandudno, UK
23 October – Philharmonic, Liverpool, UK
24 October – de Montfort Hall, Leicester, UK
25 October – The Lowry, Salford, UK
27 October – Regent Theatre, Ipswich, UK
28 October – Colston Hall, Bristol, UK
30 October – Symphony Hall, Birmingham, UK
31 October – Cliffs Pavilion, Southend, UK

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: