SLEEPMAKESWAVES Announce “These Are Not Your Dreams” EP Trilogy

SLEEPMAKESWAVES Announce These Are Not Your Dreams EP Trilogy

Australian instrumental post-rockers sleepmakeswaves have announced new music for 2020, three years since their 2017 release Made of Breath Only.

The new project, titled These Are Not Your Dreams will be released on 15 May 2020 on Bird’s Robe Records of Australia.

Rather than following a conventional release pattern, new songs will be released as a series of 3 EPs over the next few months, with No Safe Place out on Feb 21, Out Of Hours released on April 17 and Not An Exit released May 15.

The first single “Cascades” from the No Safe Place EP, part of the These Are Not Your Dreams trilogy of EPs is out now! Listen to it below.

“Cascades” is the first new music from sleepmakeswaves in 3 years, following their ARIA-nominated albums Made of Breath Only (2017) and Love of Cartography (2014). It features the band’s trademark instrumental swells and soaring melodies over a lumbering rhythmic base, before unfolding to reveal an surprising turn for the instrumental band: vocals. Although the band have experimented with vocals on album tracks since their debut in 2011, this is the first single that the band have produced featuring a lead vocal melody (sung by guitarist Otto Wicks-Green). The track closes with an epic flourish in true sleepmakeswaves fashion, as the lyrics ring out.

Pre-order These Are Not Your Dreams here.

On the new trilogy of EP’s the band comments: “These Are Not Your Dreams refers to how modern life is rubbish and the internet is invading our brains. It’s control through disorientation and the manipulation of ‘your dreams.’

Every song from this series has been an experiment in how far we can push ourselves creatively and sonically… because what else is there? There’s so much going on all the time, why do people need more? We’ve set ourselves the challenge of answering that question every day we’ve worked on our material. And we wanted to work harder than ever to justify it in an age of limitless novelty.

We’re producing all of these as a one-time limited edition release & we’re happy to be using recycled materials to produce these physical products wherever possible, as well as offsetting the carbon footprint for the other merch packages. It’s been a long time coming. If you’re still here, we hope you understand how grateful we are to have your support after all these years.

The first EP No Safe Place will be released on February 21, 2020.


1. The Endings That We Write

2. Batavia

3. Cascades

4. Time wants a skeleton

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: