RUSH: “2112″ Performance From “Clockwork Angels Tour” Available For Streaming

Rush - Clockwork Angels Tour

Legendary rock trio RUSH have unveiled details for their first new recording since being inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame earlier this year. “Rush: Clockwork Angels Tour” will be released via Anthem/Roadrunner Records on November 19. Anthem/Zoe Vision/Rounder will simultaneously release the companion DVD.

An audio recording of the song “2112″ — taken from “Rush: Clockwork Angels Tour” — can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below.

“Rush: Clockwork Angels Tour” was filmed and recorded last November at the American Airlines Arena in Dallas, Texas, during RUSH‘s highly successful “Clockwork Angels” tour. The eleven month-marathon world tour crossed North America twice and ventured overseas to Europe in support of the band’s acclaimed 2012 studio release “Clockwork Angels”.

In capturing the tour’s electrifying three-hour set, “Rush: Clockwork Angels Tour” pairs RUSH classics (“Tom Sawyer”“The Spirit Of Radio”“2112″), with a nod to the ’80s RUSH era (“The Analog Kid”“Territories”“Subdivisions”) alongside newly reworked arrangements specifically for the tour featuring the Clockwork Angels String Ensemble (“Headlong Flight”“YYZ”“Red Sector A”). The string section marks the first time the trio has brought additional musicians on the road with them. To showcase their latest studio release, the epic setlist also features nine tracks off “Clockwork Angels”. Other highlights include tracks rarely performed and never before recorded live (“The Body Electric”“Middletown Dreams”), in addition to three separate drum solos by the incomparable Neil Peart.

Beyond the incredible live performances, the DVD includes a 25-minute tour documentary, featuring interviews with all three members and exclusive, behind-the-scenes footage. Titled “Can’t Stop Thinking Big”, the piece offers a glimpse into the inner workings of the RUSH tour machine and insight into the band members themselves. Other special features on the DVD include the trio of hilarious shorts created specifically for the tour as well as interviews and outtakes captured during their filming. Additional filmed sketches and a rare soundcheck performance of perennial favourite “Limelight” round out the exclusive offerings.

“Rush: Clockwork Angels Tour” comes on the heels of Anthem/Atlantic‘s September 30 release of “Vapor Trails Remixed”, a newly remixed version of the band’s 2002 album “Vapor Trails” and 7-disc boxed set “The Studio Albums 1989-2007″, which features every studio album RUSH recorded for Atlantic Records.

“Clockwork Angels Tour” track listing:

Set One:

01. Subdivisions
02. The Big Money
03. Force Ten
04. Grand Designs
05. The Body Electric
06. Territories
07. The Analog Kid
08. Bravado
09. Where’s My Thing?Here It Is! (drum solo)
10. Far Cry

Set Two:

11. Caravan *
12. Clockwork Angels *
13. The Anarchist *
14. Carnies *
15. The Wreckers *
16. Headlong Flight */ Drumbastica (drum solo)
17. Peke’s Repose (guitar solo)/ Halo Effect *
18. Seven Cities of Gold *
19. Wish Them Well *
20. The Garden *
21. Dreamline *
22. The Percussor (I) Binary Love Theme (II) Steambanger’s Ball (drum solo)
23. Red Sector A *
24. YYZ *
25. The Spirit Of Radio


26. Tom Sawyer
27. 2112


28. Limelight (soundcheck recording)
29. Middletown Dreams
30. The Pass
31. Manhattan Project *

* With the Clockwork Angels String Ensemble

Special Features (Blu-ray/DVD only)

* Can’t Stop Thinking Big (25-minute tour documentary)
* Behind The Scenes (featuring Jay Baruchel)
* Outtakes
* Interview With Dwush
* Family Goy
* Family Sawyer
* The Watchmaker (intermission tour film)
* Office Of The Watchmaker (closing tour film)

(source Blabbermouth)

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: