PHIL MANZANERA: “Live At The Curious Arts Festival” Out on March 3

PHIL MANZANERA: "Live At The Curious Arts Festival" Out on March 3

earMUSIC is delighted to announce the release on 3 March 2017 of Live At The Curious Arts Festival from Phil Manzanera.

Phil Manzanera is one of the UK’s best-known musicians and record producers, having shot to prominence in the early ’70s as the lead guitarist with the seminal band, Roxy Music. He is widely acknowledged as one of the world’s leading guitarists and is in much demand both as a performer and record producer. In 2014 he co-produced Pink Floyd’s The Endless River, which was a global hit, achieving No. 1 in over 20 countries. Additionally, Phil Manzanera has co-written with both with Pink Floyd and David Gilmour. His own band 801 included Brian Eno on vocals and synthesizer and he has played guitar with John Cale and Nico (amongst others).

Live at the Curious Arts Festival captures Manzanera and his band’s show-stopping performance at this well-known UK literary festival, held in July 2015. The set list included storming versions of Roxy classics, such as “Take a Chance with Me,” “More Than This” and “Love is the Drug” with Sonia Bernardo giving these songs an electrifying new twist, she is indeed a star in the making. The band is packed full of talent – though many of the performers are still in their 20s – crackled and sizzled, inspiring Manzanera, whose playing on this set shows just why he is one of the world’s greatest guitarists.

At this show he performed with the the Sound of Blue band comprising of: Sonia Bernardo, singer songwriter, from Portugal (tours with Jools Holland), Javier Weyler, drummer (ex-Stereophonics) from Argentina, Yaron Stavi, bassist, from Israel (played with David Gilmour, Gilad Atzmon, Nigel Kennedy, Lily Allen), João De Macedo Mello, keyboards and sax from Brazil: member of Razorlight and recently toured with David Gilmour and Lucas Polo, guitar, from Spain. 

Live At The Curious Arts Festival from Phil Manzanera is a great collection showcasing the talents of an important and engaging artist.

Live at the Curious Arts Festival Track Listing:

1. High Atlas
2. More Than This
3. 1960 Caracas
4. Magdalena
5. Stormy Weather
6. Take A Chance With Me
7. Love Is The Drug
8. No Church In The Wild
9. Let’s Stick Together
10. Out Of The Blue

Live At The Curious Arts Festival

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: