Nosound To Release New Album – “Afterthoughts”


Nosound return in May 2013 with their new studio album, Afterthoughts. For the album Giancarlo Erra and the band have been joined by the former Porcupine Tree and Blackfield drummer, Chris Maitland.

Afterthoughts is the Nosound’s fourth studio album, their first since 2009′s A Sense Of Loss.

Giancarlo has been writing material for Afterthoughts over the past two years but a series line up changes in late 2012 have shaped the way in which the record has evolved. Firstly Chris agreed to join the band and shortly after this Marianne De Chastelaine came on board to add cello parts to the album. Following this Marco Berni (keyboards) and Giulio Caneponi (drums) were also welcomed as full time members of the band joining Paolo Vigliarolo (guitars) and Alessandro Luci (bass).

Giancarlo has talked about the sense of enthusiasm these changes brought and the effect it had on the album; ‘when we met for the second phase of the writing process, when we selected and arranged the material, it involved a total and immediate agreement within all of us, we immediately felt we were doing the right thing’.

Maitland also appeared on At The Pier and his powerful and inventive drumming has added a new dimension to the Nosound dynamic which is sure to impress fans, new and old. Giancarlo has stated that, ‘in some way I feel this album is more ‘direct’ and powerful, and this is naturally reflected in both music and lyrics.’

Afterthoughts is available to pre-order from the Kscope store as a double LP and as a 2disc set featuring the stereo mix of the album on CD plus a DVD-A / DVD-V with 5.1 surround high resolution 24bit / 96kHz mixes.

The first 500 pre-orders of the vinyl edition will be numbered and signed and shall also come with a free cloth Nosound bag and a bonus CD featuring instrumental versions of the tracks from the album.

The first 500 pre-orders of the CD / DVD-AV set shall also receive the bonus instrumental CD, but these are likely to quickly sell out so hurry up!

More info on the album, pre-order links, gallery, wallpapers along with a free MP3 of the track ‘I Miss The Ground’, can be found at the Afterthoughts mini-site which is now online at

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: