HAWKWIND to Play Leeds University Refectory on March 16

HAWKWIND to Play Leeds University Refectory on March 16

Foot Soldiers Music are delighted to announce that the legendary Hawkwind will play the iconic Leeds University Refectory on Thırsday, 16 March 2017 with support from Bradford four-piece Glass Mountain.

Hawkwind were formed in 1969 by ex-London busker Dave Brock. Although there have been many line-up changes over the years, with such luminaries of music and the arts as Ginger Baker, Michael Moorcock, Bob Calvert, Lemmy and Huw Lloyd-Langton having passed through the good ship, Dave Brock remains at the helm today and is known affectionately by fans as The Captain of the Ship.

The likes of The Orb, Future Sound Of London, Leftfield and The Chemical Brothers have all cited Hawkwind as a major inspiration on their music and indeed their lives, not least because of their constant support and activism for the likes of Shelter, Greenpeace and the Free Tibet Campaign.

Despite an extensive discography that now numbers well over fifty albums, including over thirty studio albums and the iconic Silver Machine single, Hawkwind remain an active recording band, having released the Top 30 album The Machine Stops in 2016.

Their new album, Into The Woods, will be released in the Spring of 2017. You can listen to samples from the new album here.

The Refectory at Leeds University has hosted many legendary names over the years, including Led Zeppelin, Bob Marley, The Clash, Ian Brown and Queens of the Stone Age, and was the setting for perhaps the most famous live album of all time: The Who Live in Leeds.

Having performed at numerous festivals over the decades, including Reading Festival, Isle of Wight Festival and Glastonbury, Hawkwind are renowned for creating the world’s first truly multi-media touring show. Their barrage of light, sound, dance and theatrics has become a hallmark of all Hawkwind shows, making each one a unique and spectacular event. The show in Leeds, the only northern date confirmed so far for 2017, will be no different.

Tickets available for £24 including fees from: www.thelittleboxoffice.com/footsoldiersmusic

Hawkwind are:

Dave Brock – Vocals | Guitar | Keyboards | Bass [1969 – present]

Niall Hone – Bass | Keyboards | Guitar [1986 – present]

Richard Chadwick – Drums [1988 – present]

Jonathan [Mr Dibs] Darbyshire – Bass | Guitar | Vocals | Cello [2007 – present]

Haz Wheaton – Bass [2015 – present]

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: