EXXILES to Release “Oblivion” via Nightmare Records on May 28th

Exxiles - Oblivion

EXXILES is a symphonic/progressive metal band Formed in 2012 by drummer Mauricio Bustamante, featuring guest appearances from the members of bands such: Symphony X, ex-Savatage, Trans-Siberian Orchestra and Circle II Circle, Communic, Circus Maximus, Stream of Passion, Revolution Renaissance, Spiral Architect, etc. The band’s upcoming album “Oblivion” which is set for the May 28th release via Nightmare Records, was mixed by Brett Caldas Lima and Mauricio Bustamante. The artwork was designed by Christophe Dessaigne (Star One, The Walking Dead book).

On his work with EXXILES, Mauricio Bustamante commented: ”This production reflects how sometimes we are exile in life by simple or great things when we are betrayed by something we believed in. At the end there is only one result, abandonment. With pain… with anger… with passion, you discover that you learn how to rise, to liberate and fight for the things you believe in once again. At that moment the exile transforms into something that makes you stronger while you leave it behind, to keep walking towards another kind of exile.

“‘Oblivion is the first part of a trilogy; it will be a cinematic conceptual album and it will talk about loyalty. Loyalty should be a symbol of friendship, politics, religion, love… With lot’s of stories that in the end will all have the same direction… to become one. It will show how loyalty becomes weak when personal interests are involved, and in sacrificing a dreamers dreams in order to achieve power, neither side wins. The ultimate dream was lost but not the hope!”

EXXILES’ “Oblivion” will be released on May 28th on Nightmare Records. The album trailer, as well as the videos from the recording sessions for “The Walker” (featuring Wilmer Waarbroek) and “Llorona” (featuring Marcela Bovio) can be seen below.

The band and guest list includes:

- Mauricio Bustamante (ex-Reign of the Architect)
- Simon Rojas
- Noel Martínez
- Mike Lepond (Symphony X)
- Chris Caffery (Trans-Siberian Orchestra)
- Zak Stevens (Circle II Circle)
- Marcela Bovio (Stream of Passion)
- Oddleif Stensland (Communic)
- Wilmer Waarbroek (Ayreon)
- Gus Monsanto (ex-Adagio)
- Øyvind Hægeland (Spiral Architect)
- Mats Haugen (Circus Maximus)
- David Grey (Lost in Thought)
- Sergio Agilar (Agora)
- Antonio Rivera (Solitude)

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: