Effloresce – Coma Ghosts, Tracklist and Art Cover Revealed

From left to right: Nicki (Vocals, Growls, Flutes, Percussion), Dave (Guitars, Mellotrons), Tobi (Drums), Tim (Guitars), Basti (Bass)

January 8th, 2012 Nuremberg, Germany – German progressive metal force Effloresce, fronted by vocalist Nicki Weber, revealed the tracklist and art cover of their upcoming album named Coma Ghosts. The album is set to be released on February 10th and the label is yet to be announced.

The artwork, designed both by guitarist Dave Mola and Nicki Weber is shown below.

Coma Ghosts is comprised of 6 tracks, totaling a bit above 54 minutes. The tracklist of the album is as follows:

01. Crib (8:12)
02. Spectre Pt. 1: Zorya´s Dawn (10:34)
03. Pavement Canvas (8:58)
04. Undercoat (2:54)
05. Swimming through deserts (7:11)
06. Shuteye Wanderer (16:31)

For Coma Ghosts, Effloresce worked with Swedish producer legend Dan Swanö to shape an epic sound for their signature elements like intense rhythm work, memorable melodies, organ, flute, and vocalist Nicki’s stunning range from crystal clear vocals to raw death metal growls. Comments guitarist Dave Mola: “Working with the producer of groundbreaking albums like Opeth’s Morningrise was a true honor for us and we couldn’t be happier with the results!

Coma Ghosts once again shows the band’s ability to write complex yet catchy material. The tracks range from more mellow songs like the ballad Swimming through Deserts to the more straight-forward metal of Pavement Canvas, right up to their most epic and complex song yet, the 16 minute closing track Shuteye Wanderer. Singer Nicki takes the listener on a nightmarish trip through the bleakest corners of human existence, though there is always a little spark of hope that the soul of each of the songs’ protagonists is not lost (yet).

Effloresce on web:


Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: