DREAM THEATER: New Album Artwork And Tracklisting Revealed


Dream Theater have revealed the cover art for their new album, entitled Dream Theater, due to be released on Roadrunner Records on September 23.

Guitarist John Petrucci says about Dream Theater: “I see every new album as an opportunity to start over. To either build or improve upon a direction that has been evolving over time or to completely break new ground. This is the first self-titled album of our career and there is nothing I can think of that makes a statement of musical and creative identity stronger than that. We’ve fully explored all of the elements that make us unique, from the epic and intense to the atmospheric and cinematic. We’re incredibly excited about Dream Theater and can’t wait for everyone to hear it.

Produced by the guitarist and engineered and mixed by Richard Chycki at Cover City Studio in Glen Cove, Long Island, the new album is the first that new drummer Mike Mangini has had a hand in the writing process.

“When people hear the drumming on this album, they’re gonna be pretty freaked out,” adds Petrucci. “On the last album, he did a great job, but he wasn’t there for the writing process and he was interpreting drum parts that I had programmed. Even though he used his creativity, of course, to change them up and do his thing, I feel like now he’s just Mike Mangini unleashed. It’s all him. It’s all his creativity, all his decisions and ideas and man, the guy’s an animal.”

The full tracklisting of Dream Theater is:

1. False Awakening Suite

i. Sleep Paralysis ii. Night Terrors iii. Lucid Dream

2. The Enemy Inside

3. The Looking Glass

4. Enigma Machine

5. The Bigger Picture

6. Behind The Veil

7. Surrender To Reason

8. Along For The Ride

9. Illumination Theory

i. Paradoxe de la Lumiere Noire ii. Live, Die , Kill iii. The Embracing Code iv. The Pursuit Of Truth v.Surrender, Trust & Passion

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: