Cuneiform Records Celebrates 30th Anniversary with Free Sampler

Cuneiform Records free compilation

Washington, D.C. based label Cuneiform Records celebrates this year the 30th anniversary and they have just released a digital sampler called Cuneiform Turns 30! The Albums of 2014, which includes songs from albums released during the year. The compilation is available as free download from Bandcamp.

The label’s director of publicity, Joyce wrote:

On Thanksgiving, celebrated in the USA on the 4th Thursday in November, we gather friends and family and share a traditional feast, based on the season’s harvest, in gratitude for our blessings. Many Americans’ consider it their favorite national holiday because, unlike most others, Thanksgiving embraces universals – our shared humanity and our gratitude for the earth’s bounty – and avoids focusing on any specific religion, or on any political or social cause.  It is the holiday on which ALL of us are grateful for whatever is in our wine glasses, on our plates, on our turntables, in our lives and, above all, in our hearts.

On Thanksgiving 2014, Cuneiform expresses gratitude for surviving over the past 30 years inside the music business, despite being a record label devoted to releasing music far outside the mainstream.  We’ve been blessed to exist, and to work with such wonderful artists, employees, music biz colleagues, radio and press associates, and devoted fans. Thank you for staying with us during the music industry’s challenging times; the past several years have been “interesting” for all involved in the creation and release of new music. The future of music is a vital concern to everyone, and we’re grateful to all those working to ensure a sustainable future. May we work together with all of you for decades to come!

We also give thanks for this year’s bountiful ‘harvest’: Cuneiform released 20 albums of high-quality, genre-defiant music in 2014, the largest number of albums we’ve ever released in a single year! Our 2014 releases range from:

jazz / post-jazz / beyond genre 
(Anthony Pirog; Dylan Ryan/Sand; Raoul Bjorkenheim/Ecstasy; The Microscopic Septet; Led Bib; Ideal Bread; Joel Harrison; The Ed Palermo Big Band; Thumbscrew[Halvorson/Formanek/Fujiwara]);
to avant-rock / Rock in Opposition / electronic-ambient-noise
(Richard Pinhas & Oren Ambarchi; Richard Pinhas & Yoshida Tatsuya; Mats/Morgan; Sonar; Jonathan Badger; Happy Family; and remastered reissues of the first two albums by Roger Trigaux’s Present).

Above all, we are grateful for our wonderful artists.  We ask you to also express your gratitude to the musicians whom you love, by including their releases when you compile your BEST RELEASES OF 2014 lists, or by purchasing their albums in digital, CD or lp (when available) format.

To spotlight each of our 2014 releases and to celebrate our 30th Anniversary Year, Cuneiform is digitally releasing Cuneiform Turns 30! The Albums of 2014. We invite you to celebrate with us by downloading this 20 track compilation album, and to pay what you like – including 0. Cuneiform Turns 30! The Albums of 2014 is a cornucopia of the adventurous sounds we released over the past year; there’s something for everyone to enjoy.

In closing, as the Thanksgiving holiday approaches, all of us at Cuneiform want to say THANK YOU to each and every one of you. Without your support – your kind words and good wishes, album purchases and concert attendance, airplay and reviews – we would not be on this wonderful planet, and certainly not for 30+ years.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Cuneiform Turns 30! The Albums of 2014 track listing:

1. Led Bib - New Teles [from The People In Your Neighbourhood] 05:18
2. the cellar and point - white cylinder (a) [from ambit] 04:10
3. Present - Ersatz [from Le Poison Qui Rend Fou] 09:15
4. Dylan Ryan / Sand - Trees, Voices, Saturn [from Circa] 04:36
5. Anthony Pirog [ft. Michael Formanek and Ches Smith] – The Great Northern [from Palo Colorado Dream] 05:53
6. Sonar - Static Motion [from Static Motion] 08:02
7. Richard Pinhas & Oren Ambarchi - Washington, D.C. – T4V1 (excerpt) [from Tikkun] 05:51
8. Raoul Björkenheim / eCsTaSy - El Pueblo Unido [from eCsTaSy] 05:46
9. Rob Mazurek and Black Cube SP - Return the Tides (excerpt) [from Return the Tides: Ascension Suite and Holy Ghost] 06:56
10. The Microscopic Septet - Let’s Coolerate One [from Manhattan Moonrise] 05:12
11. Mats/Morgan - Rubber Sky [from [schack tati]] 02:58
12. Thumbscrew: Mary Halvorson, Michael Formanek & Tomas Fujiwara - Cheap Knock Off [from Thumbscrew] 05:58
13. Present - Promenade Au Fond D’un Canal (excerpt) [from Triskaidekaphobie] 07:30
14. Jonathan Badger - Limbec [from Verse] 06:43
15. Led Bib - Giant Bean (excerpt) [from The Good Egg] 05:06
16. Joel Harrison - John The Revelator [from Mother Stump] 05:08
17. Happy Family - Slide [from Minimal Gods] 05:01
18. Richard Pinhas & Yoshida Tatsuya - Part One – Intro [from Welcome In The Void] 04:15
19. Ideal Bread - Crops [from Beating the Teens: Songs Of Steve Lacy] 04:16
20. The Ed Palermo Big Band - Why Is the Doctor Barking? [from Oh No! Not Jazz!!] 05:49

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: