ProgSphere’s AwesomeCast: Episode 10 – 2011 Year in Review: The Darkest Side of Prog

That’s right, folks! This part of the ProgSphere’s December series of podcasts is showcasing 20 songs from 20 albums which set the pace to exploring the term progressive beyond its extremes. These 20 bands in 2011 showed that progressive is not all about being virtuosic wanker while playing an instrument or about time signatures, but showing that these subgenres are way far from being gibberish. That’s why they made it to the list. And that’s why we decided to have this categorization, after all.

[mp3player width=590 height=130 config=fmp_jw_widget_config.xml playlist=awesomecast010.xml]

There is not to be confused that we made a mistake by putting Blut Aus Nord twice on this podcast, it’s their “fault” as they released two albums (actually 3, if we count the re-release of cult The Mystical Beast of Rebellion) this year so far (with an exception that I didn’t listen to the last part of trilogy yet), which are diametrically different and differences are what’s counting.

All of these bands/albums bring something good, but first of all I have to praise the absolute revelations for me and these are Ash Borer, Disma, Forgotten Tomb, Indian and Morne. Primordial came up with great album, but that was expected. However, the complete tracklist is below, so give a listen to this one.

As previously said, the next AwesomeCast is coming on December 22nd which is one week from now and will be completely in psychedelic-riff-jam-space rock.

Until next time…


01. Ulcerate – Omens
02. Blut Aus Nord – Epitome II
03. Wolves in the Throne Room – Astral Blood
04. Loss – Cut Up, Depressed and Alone
05. Indian – Guiltless
06. Disma – Lost in the Burial Fog
07. Anaal Nathrakh – Drug-Fucking Abomination
08. Decapitated – United
09. Ash Borer – In the Midst of Life, We Are in Death
10. Primordial – Bloodied Yet Unbowed
11. Oranssi Pazuzu –  Kaaos Hallitsee
12. Krallice – Litany of Regrets
13. Aosoth – III
14. Fen – Of Wilderness and Ruin
15. Altar of Plagues – All Life Converges to Some Center
16. Morne – Nothing to Remain
17. Forgotten Tomb – Shutter
18. Obscura – Celestial Spheres
19. Nader Sadek – Of this Flesh
20.  Blut Aus Nord – Epitome VII

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: