NEAL MORSE’s Momentum To Be Released in September

Randy George, bassist for the progressive rock band Ajalon and contributor to several Neal Morse solo projects, has recently posted a studio diary. This diary records the development and recording of Neal Morse’s current upcoming release (September 2012), tentatively named Momentum. George and drummer Mike Portnoy are each contributors to the release.

George reported that Momentum will be a song oriented album rather than a concept album consisting of six short songs and one 33-minute epic. Song titles, some tentative, reported by George are “Momentum,” the album’s title track, Thoughts – Part 3, Smoke and Mirrors, Weathering Sky, Lunar Creek, and what is intended to be the album’s final track, Freek. George didn’t give the name of the epic.

One of the interesting tidbits George shed light on from the recording process is the amount of time the trio spent revising arrangements so they wouldn’t sound like previously recorded tunes. This is the sixth album the trio has recorded together (Testimony, One, ?, Sola Scriptura, Lifeline, and Testimony 2). I imagine after recording that much music together repetition might begin to creep in.

Mike Portnoy says: “I’ve just confirmed that I will be joining @nealmorse for his US Momentum tour dates in October!! Tour dates and more info coming soon!”

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: