Tibet – Tibet

According to Prog Sphere’s „reviewing policy“, which is based on reviewing the albums released in last 2-3 years due to our tendency to keep up to date, in past I rejected to take in consideration to review some of the albums published back in 70′s, but been reissued during 90′s or later on. I know, I know – shame on me. Anyway, the exceptions are to be made – thus as I already received the self-titled album of the German progressive rockers Tibet, there was no any hesitation in coming up with this review.

Originally recorded and mixed during three-year period (1976-1978) at Rhein-Ruhr-Film studio and released on LP in 1979 by Bellaphone Records, this album since then could only be found as a rarity in the carefully selected vinyl collections. Then, in 1994 Musea Records re-released the album on CD and finally this year the re-release of 1994′s re-release has been issued and the band announced working on a new album, with the original line-up.

Reading the story of the 15 pages booklet, with all those b&w photos inside made me feel both charm and melancholy for the times characterized often as the blossoming point in the music history. I am wondering sometimes is that „crucial“ statement which says that there is no better time than the present valid. To keep on topic, if someone could tell me what is it about music that is better in present in comparison with the mentioned Summer of Love-post era, I would just cut the *peep* right here and give you just another boring track-by-track review. But I feel half divided, using this album as a shelter to get out from my own shell and fire cannonade on anything and everything. The second half is still agonizing, trying to pull out a deserved polemic discussion about Tibet’s Tibet.

Lost in the shadow of everything greatly manufactured during the 70′s progressive renaissance, Tibet never made it to the tops and there were no any Lee Dorian or Mikael Akerfeldt to pull the strings for them, as the mentioned gentlemen did for Comus few years ago. With an album which apparently caught the last of 70′s trains, the album is likely to be considered as a monument of the progressive rock spring. On Tibet, there is nothing you probably didn’t hear so far, this record doesn’t bring anything epochal what others didn’t establish yet, but this record stands out for its inspiring breathe of the golden era of progressive rock history mixed up with East.

I don’t know how the band will sound in 2012 and it’s not of any significant value, after all. Everyone’s got its own place under the Sun and music is the best expression of a time burdening, but with an album released for more than 32 years ago and the same-number-long hiatus – there are stories to be told.


01. Fight Back
02. City By the Sea
03. White Ships and Icebergs
04. Seaside Evening
05. Take What’s Yours
06. Eagles
07. No More Time


* Klaus Werthmann – lead vocals
* Deff Ballin – keyboards, percussion
* Dieter Kumpakischkis – keyboards
* Karl-Heinz Hamann – bass, percussion
* Fred Teske – drums, percussion, guitars, vocals
* Jürgen Krutzsch – guitars, percussion

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: