Lanes Laire – Resurrection of Black

Lanes Laire - Resurrection of Black

As I’m writing this review, I’ve probably listened to this album dozens of times. This is the type of album that motivated me to start reviewing in the first place. An artist of this caliber not being signed or at least getting some exposure is ludicrous in every sense of the word.  The artist I’m talking about, of course, is Lanes Laire.

Lanes started making music seemingly out of nowhere in Sedona, Arizona. In 2015, Laire came up with an album titled “Resurrection of Black.”

“Resurrection of Black” is one of those albums that, musically, a person finds to be perfect in every way, but either the rest of the world doesn’t think so or the band just isn’t very lucky, because few others get to share that glory. In place of the archetype ‘Classic rock with some Prog Rock’ influence that most Prog bands use, this project actually plays something of an opposite, instead adding Prog influence to a very evident Classic Rock structure.

There’s nothing more valuable than a good opener track; it starts the album off on the right foot and in many cases, can make or break a listener’s enjoyment. While “Hell If I Know” starts out a bit slow it’s certainly forgivable, because the album picks up fairly quickly. From the introduction to the uplifting rocking passage, and finally to the flying guitar solo the shortest song on the album is off the runway and into the air in no time.

Probably one of the most standout factors of any Rock recording is the melody. In many cases–more so with Progressive Rock than anything–the melody is at the forefront of the music in a very obnoxious manner, and it overshadows the rest of the things going on in a song. Lanes Laire masterfully experiments with this segment on quite a few occasions throughout “Resurrection of Black.” As many who listen to Prog Rock know, a number of bands barely use the guitar if at all, and when it’s used it’s almost always a backup instrument. In Laire’s case it’s used pretty regularly, but it’s never obnoxiously placed at the forefront of the music, and instead falls into place with everything else that’s going on. Between the catchy riffs, melodious leads, and soothing acoustics, Laire’s performance is definitely worthy of praise.

In conclusion, this album is something that everybody who listens to Progressive Rock on ANY scale should listen to, hands down. I believe the term ‘the best band you’ve never heard of’ comes into play here, and with an album this good, it’s incredibly easy to say. In a scene where there are numerous clones and rehashes, this album is a breath of fresh air.


1. Hell If I Know 02:09
2. The World Around Us 07:11
3. Greedy Disregard 03:47
4. Pleasures Of War 04:10
5. The Struggle Within 06:02
6. Influential Deception 04:26
7. Suicidal Intentions 03:22
8. Justifiable Condemnation 06:31


* Lanes Laire – vocals, guitars, keyboards, bass pedals
* Matt Bissonette – bass
* Gregg Bissonette – drums
* Jeana Olivia – harmony vocals







Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: