Kardashev – Peripety

Kardashev - Peripety

Metal has always been a type of music where a little bending of the rules is encouraged, and with that in mind, many talented young acts have been taking advantage of the style to express themselves in new heavy ways. Enter Kardashev, a progressive death metal trio that carries that somewhat stigmatic label of ‘deathcore’ around with them, but as one can hear on their newly released album Peripety, there is much more going on to them than the label implies. Contrasting claustrophobic technical death metal with wonderfully atmospheric and post-rock moments, Peripety is a futuristic dive into metal that showcases the skill of some promising young talent.

Many of the younger bands have been attracted to the breakdown-heavy and crushing sounds of deathcore, but to be entirely honest, few are able to pull off the sound with intelligence or taste. Kardashev is certainly a heavy act by all accounts, but as virtually every track on this debut indicates, there is more going on to them than mere metal riffage. “Sopor“ and “Somnus“ both start out as fairly straightforward technical metal tracks, complete with blistering drums and guitars, and fairly good growls. As the music goes on though, the band is common to shift into lighter, melodic sections. This is where the great strength of Peripety lies; in the atmospheric beauty moments where they take it down a notch and contrast their typically heavy metal sound. This is not to say that the metal aspect of Kardashev is not tight however, just not as unexpected. Kardashev is very technically complex, and during the most technical moments of their fury, it is often very difficult to predict where the band will head next, even if the sound revolves around the same guitar tones over the course of the record.

Kardashev does contrast the heavy and light moments throughout the record, and at times, this can start feeling a little formulaic. Luckily, the melodic moments are so atmospheric, and the heavy parts are technical enough to keep the whole thing interesting to the end. The closest comparison or evident influence to the band’s sound would actually be to Cynic and/or The Contortionist, and while that influences certainly do not show in the band’s necessary breakdowns and tech riffs, it is clear in the melodic moments.

An excellent album from this band, and while I’m not finding myself endeared to every sound that the band has to offer, there are incredible parts here that must be heard by progressive metal listeners.


1. Tenebris 02:06
2. Sopor 03:40
3. Somnus 05:52
4. Somnium 03:59
5. Aurora 03:09
6. Lucido 05:03
7. Umbra 03:41
8. Vigilo 03:07
9. Conscium 04:02
10. Lux 03:46






Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: