Grand Magus – Triumph and Power

Grand Magus - Triumph and Power

There comes a time, every few years or so, when heavy metal’s evolution tends to stagnate – latching on to certain trends and beating the proverbial dead horse as we wait for a new movement to come along and clean up after itself. In times like these, it’s always best to take a deep breath and return to the primitive yet stately power of the traditional heavy metal archetypes of old.

Grand Magus’ “Triumph and Power” allows us to do just that; shut the door on all the over-produced, annoyingly pristine and unprovocative clamor of modern metal bandwagonism, and return to a sacred place – a land where the galloping riffs of Iron Maiden, glass-shattering melodies of Judas Priest and defiant bravado of Manowar still reign supreme.

This is where Grand Magus live, and it’s where they have lived since the band’s inception. From Sabbath-worshiping doom purveyors to their later evolution as traditionalist saviors, Grand Magus have a tremendous track record for producing state-of-the-art traditional heavy metal thunder.

“Triumph and Power” is an exercise in perfect heavy metal execution. The riffs shake the ground below, hitting heavier than a thousand hammers of Thor, and the melodies glide through sacred winds like a brave eagle in flight. Singer Janne “JB” Christoffersson’s husky and soul-stirring delivery ties it all together to make “Triumph and Power” a bona fide gem of anthemic heavy metal dominance.

Musical highlights occur throughout the entire course of the album. There’s the forceful attack of “Steel Versus Steel” and “The Naked and the Dead,” evoking mid-period Priest brilliantly. The plodding, mid-paced melodicism of “On Hooves of Gold” and the title track, which could make Joey DeMaio tremble in his loincloth. And then there’s the closer “The Hammer Will Bite,” a glorious end-piece that surely makes Ronnie James Dio smile down from the hall of Valhalla in approval.

The only low points of the album occur during the two, somewhat longwinded musical interludes (“Arv” and “Ymer”) that only serve to give the listener a bit of a breather before being pulverized by the next majestic hymn Grand Magus serve up. All in all, it’s safe to say that the Swedish trio have successfully produced a traditional heavy metal essential that can proudly stand toe to toe with the output of any of the heroes that inspired the band to create it.


1. On Hooves Of Gold
2. Steel Versus Steel
3. Fight
4. Triumph And Power
5. Dominator
6. Arv
7. Holmgång
8. The Naked And The Dead
9. Ymer
10. The Hammer Will Bite


* JB – vocals, guitar
* Fox – bass
* Sebastian – drums


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: