Evergrey – Hymns for the Broken

Evergrey - Hymns for the Broken

Unparalleled and nonstandard band hailing from Göteborg in Sweden, Evergrey went to prominence, as soon as 1998 with the release of their excellent first effort The Dark Discovery. Their career, as well as their success on international level, never failed to grow. Hymns For The Broken, their very last studio record, could have nonetheless never seen the light of day. In fact, according to their frontman Tom S. Englund, the band was on the verge of splitting after the release of their 2011 release, Glorious Collision, despondency of the band members and important changes in the line-up (guitarist Henrik Danhage, bassist Jari Kainulainen and drummer Jonas Ekdahl left at the same time then) being the main reasons. However, just as phoenix rising from its ashes, the band (with Henrik Danhage and Jonas Ekdahl returning in the meantime) comes back with an insolent class. Their new effort, as dark and symphonic as ever, brings to memory the splendour of  In Search Of Truth (2001).

On this new effort, opening with the languidly recited The Awakening, the band bewitches us with pompous and heavy atmospheres. Tracks like the epic King Of Errors, with its bible black mood, or the hasty A New Dawn, supported by lush orchestrations are utterly beautiful with their alternance of powerful sections brought by raging guitars and lighter passages brought by diaphanous piano. The groove of the band’s early works is also present, as heard in galloping compositions such as The Fire, with its moving children’s choir, and The Grand Collapse, where a Debussy-like piano and Maiden-like choirs collide.


Also, as in their previous works, with Wake A Change, Missing You and The Aftermath, leader Tom S. Englund didn’t forget to include tear-jerking pieces, which are more than welcome to temper the overall tense atmosphere of Hymns For The Broken. Moreover, as is usually the case with Evergrey, the large majority of the twelve songs recorded on the new album bear catchy choruses, that will bring fond memories to the listener in the long run (lend an ear to the syncopated Barricades, where Tom‘s painful implorations burst into an infectious jubilation when the chorus pops up, but also to the wonderful power ballad Black Undertow with its pop vibe).

To sum up, this album strikes by melodies set within cold and disillusioned atmospheres in which the tearful voice of the master of ceremony still amazes in its vibrant style (with special mention to the splendid Missing You). That’s it, let’s celebrate an excellent comeback!


1. The Awakening
2. King Of Errors
3. A New Dawn
4. Wake A Change
5. Archaic Rage
6. Barricades
7. Black Undertow
8. The Fire
9. Hymns For The Broken
10. Missing You
11. A Grand Collapse
12. The Aftermath



The review written by Lucas Biela & Bertrand Pourcheron

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: