Bruno Pitch – Crystal Garden

Bruno Pitch is a guitarist and Chapman Stick player from Moulins, France, and Crystal Garden is his debut self-released album from 2010. Originally a guitarist, there is an apparent difference in Bruno’s approach when you compare his style to other Chapman Stick players. The album is instrumental in its entirety, although there can be heard a voice in an instrumental form.

Joined by the drummer Guix Hure and Coumarin Breme (tablas) the trio mixes up progressive rock, fusion and the bits of world music in eight tracks. The album kicks off with Liquid Garden, the longest song on the album, and also the most experimental when compared to all the other pieces. A very psychedelic piece that explores a variety of soundscapes whose ingredients are harmonic mischief, drums, some percussive wickedness, with the mentioned voices serving as an additional instrument.

The title track and Le Chateau fall under the domain of renaissance fusiony exploration. Dual Sphere (included on our recently released Progstravaganza compilation) brings the vibe of Rush and clearly stands out as the most progressive rock piece on Crystal Garden. Friendships, together with Neverlove are the simplest tracks on the record in terms of their structure. At the other side, the biggest highlight comes in the shape of Karachi, the track adorned by Mid-Eastern influence weighed excellently on the Chapman and Tabla.

Flirting with plenty different elements, with Crystal Garden Bruno Pitch shows skills and readiness that in the near future will produce an album which will be highly appreciated in the collection of every progressive rock fan. And with this release, he is very close to that.


01. Liquid Garden
02. Crystal Garden
03. Dual Sphere
04. Friendships
05. Karachi
06. La Chateau
07. Neverlove
08. Solarium


* Bruno Pitch – Chapman Stick
* Guix Huré – drums, percussions
* Coumarin Breme – Tablas, voices


Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: