Adrenaline Mob – Men Of Honor

Adrenaline Mob - Men of Honor

The future of Adrenaline Mob didn’t seem to be too bright after drummer Mike Portnoy announced his departure from the band in mid-2013 due to scheduling conflicts. Yet the band pulled them together and with addition of AJ Pero (Twisted Sister) on drums, the new album has been penned and released on February 18 in North America, with Feburary 22 as the release date internationally.

Men of Honor brings 11 tracks on uncompromising slammin’, groovin’ and shreddin’ metal, with guitarist Mike Orlando and singer Russell Allen keeping the flame alive. Following the same template that was laid down on the debut Omerta, Adrenaline Mob continues to provide a good mixture of melody, thick riffs and groove. What obviously derives from that is the factor of catchiness that makes songs accessible.

The album runs smoothly though its something over fifty minutes. The opening The Mob is Back is a “statement-maker” track, a definer that traces the way for the rest of the record. Behind These Eyes shows that not everything is about riffs, it slows down the pace and opens for Allen‘s demonstration of great vocal skills he acquired through the years. One of the highlights of this album is definitely the equal distribution of leading roles between all four of the members. Everyone gets its moment, but more importantly they really feel as a compact unit.

Men of Honor is quite balanced, but the tracks that set off immediately besides the album opener include Come On Get Up, Feel the Adrenaline and Judgement Day. On the other hand, already mentioned Behind These Eyes and Dearly Departed emphasize the melodic side, stating that way that the music on the album is indeed varied.

Adrenaline Mob has survived the turbulence and is ready rock. If you appreciate a good ol’ heavy metal with huge riffs, massive rhythm section and powerful vocals, Men of Honor is a mandatory release for you this year.


Mob Is Back
Come on Get Up
Dearly Departed
Behind These Eyes
Let It Go
Feel the Adrenaline
Men of Honor
Crystal Clear
House of Lies
Judgment Day
Fallin’ to Peaces


* Russell Allen – vocals
* Mike Orlando – guitar
* John Moyer – bass
* AJ Pero – drums


Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: