USURPRESS Launch New Song, “an Unholy Mix Between CAMEL and BOLT THROWER”

USURPRESS Launch New Song Which is "Unholy Mix Between CAMEL and BOLT THROWER"

Friday, 23rd of February 2018, will witness the release of Interregnum, the 4th album and follow up to the ambitious concept suite The Regal Tribe (2016), by Swedish self proclaimed “primitive and progressive” death metallers USURPRESS. The album will be available via Agonia Records. Listen to the first single ”In Books Without Pages” below.

This time, core members Stefan Pettersson (vocals, lyrics), Påhl Sundström (guitars, music) and Daniel Ekeroth (bass, music) are joined by jazz-fusion drummer Stefan Hildman and ambient/trance keyboardist Erik Sundström, and the outcome astounded even the band itself. Interregnum can be described as “an unholy mix between Camel and Bolt Thrower, that somehow works flawlessly, so be prepared for something quite out of the ordinary. And out of this world.

The album was recorded and mixed in the world-renowned studio Dugout Productions (SoilworkBehemothIn FlamesDark Funeral, etc.) in the band’s hometown of Uppsala, Sweden.

USURPRESS have made the following statement about the new album: ”This time we wanted to challenge the establish dogmas and indeed our own predetermined ideas of what makes death metal sound like death metal. We have taken notes from the history of heavy guitar driven music before the times of death metal, in fact; before the times of heavy metal. We have taken inspiration from the hard rock and prog rock movements of the early seventies and put a heavy death twist on it. For those who feel like retching at the sound of this; we can assure you that this is by all means a death metal album and not some silly retro 70-ties throwback 5 years too late for the trend. It’s simply Usurpress but slower, heavier and way more complex.

Interregnum Track Listing: 

1. A Place in the Pantheon
2. Interregnum
3. In Books Without Pages
4. Late in the 11:th Hour
5. Ships of Black Glass (I: Shards, II: Black Echo)
6. The Iron Gates Are Melting
7. The Vagrant Harlot

Album formats:

- Digipack CD
- Black LP
- Gold LP (limit. to 125 copies)
- Digital
- T-shirt


Stefan Pettersson – vocals
Påhl Sundström - guitars
Daniel Ekeroth – bass
Stefan Hildman (session) – drums
Erik Sundström (session) – keyboards

Pre-order Interregnum from:



USURPRESS on-line:


Usurpress - Interregnum

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: