Dio tribute

Ronnie James Dio is to be commemorated with an all-star tribute album featuring tracks recorded by Metallica, Motorhead, Anthrax and others.

This Is Your Life includes 13 re-recordings of classics from the late vocalist’s Black Sabbath, Rainbow and Dio years. Most of the material has never previously been released. The final track is a “poignant” 1996 voice-and-piano version of the title track, sung by Ronnie himself.

Also featured are Adrenaline Mob, Corey Taylor, Halestorm, Scorpions, Killswitch Engage, Doro and Glenn Hughes with the final Dio line-up of Simon Wright, Craig Goldy, Rudy Sarzo and Scott Warren.

Proceeds from sales will benefit the Ronnie James Dio Stand Up And Shout Cancer Fund, created by the vocalist’s wife Wendy following his death in 2010.

This Is Your Life will be released via Rhino Records on April 1.


01. Neon Knights – Anthrax
02. The Last In Line – Tenacious D
03. The Mob Rules – Adrenaline Mob (previously released)
04. Rainbow In The Dark – Corey Taylor, Roy Mayorga, Satchel, Christian Martucci, Jason Christopher
05. Straight Through The Heart – Halestorm
06. Starstruck – Motörhead with Biff Byford
07. The Temple Of The King – Scorpions
08. Egypt (The Chains Are On) – Doro (previously released)
09. Holy Diver – Killswitch Engage (previously released)
10. Catch The Rainbow – Glenn Hughes, Simon Wright, Craig Goldy, Rudy Sarzo, Scott Warren
11. I – Oni Logan, Jimmy Bain, Rowan Robertson, Brian Tichy
12. Man On The Silver Mountain – Rob Halford, Vinny Appice, Doug Aldrich, Jeff Pilson, Scott Warren
13. Ronnie Rising Medley (A Light In The Black, Tarot Woman, Stargazer, Kill The King) – Metallica
14. This Is Your Life – Dio (previously released)

(source Classic Rock Magazine)

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: