REST AMONG RUINS Featuring MIKE SEMESKY Release “Beyond The Storm” Single

Rest Among Ruins - Fugue

Baltimore, Maryland based progressive metal band Rest Among Ruins, featuring vocalist Mike Semesky (RAUNCHY, ex-Intervals/The HAARP Machine) has released a new song “Beyond The Storm” off of their debut album “Fugue” which is set for a 2015 release. The album was produced by Drewsif Stalin, and is stated to be a 14 song concept album. Hear “Beyond The Storm” below.

Semesky stated via the band’s Facebook:

The album concept was inspired by the story of a fascinating patient I had the pleasure of meeting when I was working at a psychiatric hospital, back before I began pursuing my music career. This person’s extremely rare clinical condition was the unfortunate result of a severe traumatic incident, and it sparked a hauntingly fascinating journey in his life under a fictitious identity of which his mind had created. It was unlike any other case I’d ever heard of throughout my experience in the field. Out of respect for rights and privacy, the album absolutely does not reveal names or any identifying details. The lyrics are written in first-person, stream of consciousness form, and shift in and out of his reality, dreams, and dissociation as the story progresses. The instrumentation of the album adapts stylistically to best compliment each chapter of the story, and explores a broad range of heavy and melodic metal, prog, and rock.

We hope you enjoy the first dose of our album and we can’t wait for you to experience the story in its entirety! Guitar playthrough videos, more new music, and release details are soon to come!

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: