More Details Revealed For Steve Hackett's "Genesis Revisited II"

More details have been revealed about Steve Hackett‘s forthcoming album GENESIS REVISITED II, which will be released on 22nd October via InsideOut Music.  Reinterpreting Genesis classics from the period dearest to him, the “golden era” 1971-1977, Hackett is the first ex-member to re-record and tour that part of the band’s material. While he made sure the spirit of the timeless originals stayed intact, he enlisted the help of 35 special guests to provide the songs with a new unique edge.

The star-studded line-up includes respected vocalists Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree), Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth), Simon Collins (Phil Collins’ son), Amanda Lehmann, Conrad Keely, Francis Dunnery, Neal Morse, John Wetton, Nad Sylvan and Nik Kershaw.  Steve Rothery of Marillion and Roine Stolt of The Flower Kings and Transatlantic join in to share guitar duties, while Jeremy Stacey and Gary O’Toole are amongst the chosen drummers.  “It’s a project of Wagnerian proportions!” Hackett commented. “For the most part I’ve followed the arrangements we had first time around, but each vocalist has added their own character.”  Please see below for the complete track listing.  GENESIS REVISITED II will be available as a 2 disc digipak.  An extensive world tour in support of the new album will be announced shortly.

In 2010, Steve Hackett was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame at The 25thAnnual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony alongside his Genesis bandmates from the classic line-up: Peter Gabriel, Phil Collins, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford.  For more than three decades, Steve Hackett has been known for his innovative tone and extraordinary versatility as a guitarist and composer.  He helped define Genesis’ sound as lead guitarist in the classic line-up and went on to have a highly-successful career as a solo artist, and also as part of 80s supergroup GTR with Steve Howe.

Steve Hackett - GENSIS REVISITED II track listing:


1. Chamber Of 32 Doors
2. Horizons
3. Supper’sReady
4. TheLamia
5.Dancing With The Moonlit Knight
6. Fly On A Windshield
7. Broadway Melody of1974
8. The Musical Box
9. Can-Utility And The Coastliners
10.Please Don’t Touch


1.Blood On The Rooftops
2.The Return Of The Giant Hogweed
3. Entangled
4.Eleventh Earl Of Mar
6.Unquiet Slumbers For TheSleepers…
7.InT hat Quiet Earth
8. Afterglow
9. A Tower Struck Down
10.Camino Royale
11.Shadow Of The Hierophant

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: