MESHUGGAH’s Tomas Haake Talks Title and Album Art for New Album [VIDEO]


The Swedish extreme tech-metal pioneers Meshuggah recently revealed the title of their upcoming eighth album, The Violent Sleep Of Reason. Today, the band released the first trailer where Tomas Haake discusses the title and cover artwork for the eighth album. Watch the video below.

Tomas Haake comments: “Basically, the whole idea of why we chose the title is it kinda connects with the lyrical content of the album. Which is to a fair degree about current events and what you see is going on as far as terrorism today, extremist views on ideals, and religious dogma and the violent implications that you get from being asleep so to speak and not acting/reacting to what is going on in the proper way.”

The album was produced by the band and was engineered by Tue Madsen of Puk Studios in KaerbyDenmark. For the cover, the band once again enlisted Keerych Luminokaya who created the artwork for Koloss and The Ophidian Trek as well as the new images for each of the 7 albums and 3 EP’s featured in the 25 Years of Musical Deviance box set.

“The Violent Sleep Of Reason” will be available in the following formats:

Nuclear Blast UK Store:

- Mail-Order Exclusive Box Set*
Limited to 1,000 worldwide
Includes: Latex face mask, (2) stickers, (2) 1.25” buttons, poster flag, certificate of
- Limited Edition Double Gatefold Gold Vinyl
- Limited Edition Double Gatefold Silver Vinyl
- Limited Edition Double Gatefold Light Blue/Orange Bi-Coloured Vinyl

Available here:

- Limited Edition Black Double LP
- Limited Edition Double Gatefold Picture Disc
- CD Digipack

Available here:

The Violent Sleep of Reason Track Listing:

1. Clockworks
2. Born in Dissonance
3. MonstroCity
4. By the Ton
5. Violent Sleep of Reason
6. Ivory Tower
7. Stifled
8. Nostrum
9. Our Rage Won’t Die
10. Into Decay

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: