MASTODON’s “Once More ‘Round the Sun” Lands on #6 on Billboard 200

Mastodon cracks U.S. Top 10 with their new album "Once More 'Round the Sun"

Once More ‘Round the Sun, the sixth studio album from Atlanta progressive metallers Mastodon, sold around 34,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 6 on The Billboard 200 chart. The record arrived in stores on June 24 via Reprise Records.

Mastodon‘s fifth album, 2011′s The Hunter, opened with 39,000 units to enter the chart at No. 10. The band’s previous CD, Crack The Skye, registered a first-week tally of 41,000 copies back in April 2009 to debut at No. 11. Mastodon‘s 2006 effort, Blood Mountain, came in with just over 24,000 units — significantly more than the 8,000 first-week total of its predecessor, 2004′s Leviathan — which put it at No. 32.

Once More ‘Round the Sun was recorded in Nashville with Grammy Award-winning producer Nick Raskulinecz, who is known for his work with RushDeftonesFoo Fighters and Alice in Chains. Also available on June 24 was a stunning deluxe 2LP vinyl edition of Once More ‘Round the Sun. This limited edition includes two discs pressed onto 180-gram black vinyl housed in a quadruple gatefold vinyl jacket featuring artwork by Skinner, plus a CD of the complete album. The package includes four exclusive lithographs derived from the album artwork.

Once More ‘Round the Sun track listing:

01. Tread Lightly
02. The Motherload
03. High Road
04. Once More ‘Round The Sun
05. Chimes At Midnight
06. Asleep In The Deep
07. Feast Your Eyes
08. Aunt Lisa
09. Ember City
10. Halloween
11. Diamond In The Witch House (feat. Scott Kelly of NEUROSIS)

Photo by: David McClister

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: