JETHRO TULL’s Martin Barre To Release “Away With Words” On September 30th


Jethro Tull guitarist Martin Barre will release his fourth solo album, Away With Words, on September 30, he’s confirmed – and it’s to include new compositions alongside reworkings of some lesser-known Tull tracks.

The launch is to be supported by a European tour.

He recorded guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, bass, flute and bass clarinet on the record, alongside Dan Crisp on vocals; Frank Mead on flute, whistles, bodhran and blues harp; Jonathan Noyce on bass and George Lindsay on drums and percussion.

Barre says: “Re-arranging the Tull songs became a very pleasant and rewarding task. These tracks have always been amongst my favourites and reworking them brought back many good memories.

“I’ve written the rest of the music, hopefully, with sympathy and taste. Composing and re-arranging is my passion. This album is a fusion of my writing blended with Ian Anderson’s, in a continual movement of music.”

The future of Tull is still undecided, with Anderson having recently said a new album is in the works, but he hasn’t decided whether it will be a solo outing.

Away With Words tracklist

1.  First Light/Moths
2.  It’s My Round
3.  One Brown Mouse/Fatcat
4.  All Bars Hold
5.  Air: Lament Of the Spalpeen/Martin’s Jig/Hymn
6.  Pussy Willow
7.  Snapshot/Paparazzi
8.  Long Ago/Home
9.  Fire At Midnight/From The Ashes
10. Protect & Survive
11. Spare A Thought/From A Dead Beat To An Old Greaser
12. Sundown

(via Prog)

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: