JAMES LABRIE: “I Will Not Break” Digital-EP Out Now

James LaBrie

Following up on the success of his latest studio album, “Impermanent Resonance”, Dream Theater’s James LaBrie has now released a Digital EP entitled “I Will Not Break” in Europe (North American street date is January 14th, 2014) via InsideOutMusic.

The “I Will Not Break” EP will include 9 tracks and a total playing time of 38 minutes for a special low-price with the following tracklisting:

JAMES LABRIE – “I Will Not Break” Digital EP (38:03)
1. I Will Not Break (3:52)
2. Unraveling (3:31)
3. Why (3:45)
4. Coming Home (Alternate Mix) (4:23)
5. Jekyll Or Hyde (Demo) (3:48)
6. Just Watch Me (Demo) (4:17)
7. I Tried (Jason Miller Re-mix) (5:13)
8. Over The Edge (Mutrix Re-mix) (4:33)
9. Euphoric (NeonGenesis Re-mix) (4:41)

While the opening title track is the album version taken from the “Impermanent Resonance” release, the songs 2 and 3 were previously only released physically as Digipak bonus tracks. Song 4 is an alternate mix version and songs 5 as well as 6 are special demo versions, all previously only released physically as bonustracks on the Digipak and the Japanese edition for the “Static Impulse” album in 2010. Songs 7, 8 and 9 are special dub step / electronica re-mixes of “Static Impulse” songs, previously unreleased (Song 7 was only available physically in Japan before). The re-mixes were done by US-based DJ’s Jason Miller, Mutrix and NeonGenesis. The cover artwork for the EP was once again designed by Gustavo Sazes / abstrata.net (Arch Enemy, Kamelot, etc.).

You can order the “I Will Not Break” Digital EP from iTunes here.

Check out the EP’s title-track “I Will Not Break” in a video below.

James LaBrie checked in to comment about the upcoming EP release as follows:

“Hey Everyone! Matt, Marco, Peter, Ray and yours truly are very pleased to release this digital EP. It will show some of the songs with alternate mixes as well as letting you hear Matt’s exceptional voice with some of the songs in their demo versions. We also had 3 of the songs mixed in dub step stylings to give them a somewhat interesting flavour and twist. Hope you all enjoy this release, I personally think it is very cool. All the best in the New Year and see you out there….”

Most recently, the James LaBrie track “Lost In The Fire” was used by the Swedish sound library company Toontrack Music to promote the launch of one of their new products. Check out the trailer here.

James LaBrie’s latest studio album “Impermanent Resonance” was, just like the previous “Static Impulse” album from 2010, mixed and mastered at Sweden’s Fascination Street recording studios (Kreator, Opeth, Paradise Lost, etc.) with Jens Bogren and this time also Tony Lindgren. Upon release, “Impermanent Resonance” managed to enter the national sales charts in Germany on position # 48 and The Netherlands on position # 67 as well as UK’s Rock Album Chart on position # 22.

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: