HAKEN to Release “Affinity” on April 29

Haken 2016

Since releasing their highly praised EP ‘Restoration’ in 2014, Haken have been making waves on the live circuit, which included appearances at high-profile festivals such as Hellfest, Ramblin’ Man Fair, Be Prog! My Friend and Cruise to the Edge as well as support campaigns for The Neal Morse Band and Between The Buried And Me, a double headline UK tour with Leprous and their first North American headline tour.

Haken now announce the release of ‘Affinity’, their fourth full-length album, and the follow-up to their acclaimed 2013 album ‘The Mountain’.

Recorded during the winter months of 2015, ‘Affinity’ marks a new approach to the songwriting process for Haken, as vocalist Ross Jennings explains; “It is the most collaborative we have ever been on an album. We wanted to develop and expand our sound by having every member contribute initial ideas from the very beginning of the process. It naturally takes longer to filter through the mass of material and fit it all together coherently, but this approach has helped to create something completely fresh whilst maintaining the core elements of Haken’s sound.”

Haken have once again called upon Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Devin Townsend, Between The Buried And Me) for mixing and mastering duties. “He is a wizard in this department! We are always confident his mix will bring out the best from our performance and this is no exception” remarks keyboardist Diego Tejeida.

Like much of Haken’s previous music, ‘Affinity’ is full of surprises and ‘The Architect’, the album’s centrepiece, is no exception. Blasting through a dizzying array of instrumental insanity coupled with down-tempo atmospheric tenuity, Haken welcomes friend and Leprous frontman Einar Solberg mid-song for a spot of guest vocals! Just one of many twists and turns throughout this 60-minute musical lobotomy, Haken’s ‘Affinity’ will open up a new dimension in this UK sextet’s trajectory.

‘Affinity’ is released via Inside Out on 29/04/2016.

Tracklist and running times:

1. affinity.exe [1:24]
2. Initiate [4:16]
3. 1985 [9:09]
4. Lapse [4:44]
5. The Architect [15:40]
6. Earthrise [4:48]
7. Red Giant [6:06]
8. The Endless Knot [5:50]
9. Bound By Gravity [9:29]

Haken - Affinity

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: