GENTLE GIANT’s “Octopus” Album Remixed by STEVEN WILSON Out on October 27

Gentle Giant - Octopus

Originally released in 1972, “Octopus” is Gentle Giant’s fourth album. The album features band members: Gary Green (guitars, percussion), Kerry Minnear (keyboards, vibraphone, percussion, cello, vocals), Derek Shulman (vocals, alto saxophone), Phil Shulman (saxophones, trumpet, mellophone, vocals), Ray Shulman (bass violin, guitar, percussion, vocals), John Weathers (drums, percussion, xylophone).  The album was produced by the band and engineered and mixed by Martin Rushent.

The album has been tastefully remixed by Steven Wilson who also remixed Gentle Giant‘s “The Power And The Glory” in 2014. Also included is a bonus of Steven’s mix of live 15-minute concert performances of “Excerpts from Octopus“  from the band’s 1976 tour.

New sketches by Roger Dean (who produced the original UK album cover) will be included in the new packaging as well as artwork from the USA album (an octopus in a jar created by Charles White).

The Blu-ray’s remixed album and added 15 minutes of live excerpts will be in 96/24 PCM, DTS 5.1 Surround Sound Master Audio.  The Blu-ray also includes instrumental mixes of 5 of the original 8 tracks from this album. Also included is the flat transfer of the original mix of the album.

The “Octopus” releases will be through Caroline-UMG in North America, and on Soulfood in the rest of the world on October 27.

Track listing:

1. The Advent Of Panurge *

2. Raconteur Troubadour   *

3. A Cry For Everyone

4. Knots

5. The Boys In The Band

6. Dog’s Life

7. Think Of Me With Kindness

8. River

9. Bonus Live “Excerpts From Octopus 1976”

 * Original stereo mixes and Penteo surround sound upmixes.   

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: