Billy Sherwood Will Not Remix Geoff Tate’s Queensryche Album After All

Billy SherwoodGeoff Tate’s Queensryche album Frequency Unknown has hit another stumbling block as Billy Sherwood has bowed out of remixing the record.

He made the announcement days after he was supposed to have started work on the project, explaining that he doesn’t have time for it.

Sherwood was hired by Tate’s record label after fans complained about the quality of the original mix as heard in preview clips. They confirmed Frequency Unknown would be released as planned next month, then Sherwood’s version would appear at a later date.

But the bassist and producer has said: “I’m in the middle of many projects, both studio productions and live stuff – Prog Collective 2, Steve Miller tribute, William Shatner solo record, starting a Doors tribute soon, playing live in a few days with Eddie Jobson in Mexico.

“I also just got an interesting offer to play bass with a prog icon for a few gigs in June. I will announce who when it gets closer.

“While I was excited about taking the Queensryche gig, in reality is there is not enough time in my schedule at present. and so… I wish them luck on the project!”

Tate formed his own version of Queensryche after being sacked by the rest of the original band last year. His lineup has endured a series of changes, including the departure of former Megadeth guitarist Glen Drover, who left before a note had been played – then guested on stage with the singer’s ex-bandmates, referring to them as “the real Queensryche.”

Two versions of the band will exist until a court decision over brand ownership is revealed in November.Frequency Unknown is released on April 23; while Todd La Torre, Michael Wilton, Eddie Jackson, Scott Rockenfield and Parker Lundgren launch their own record on June 11. The latter band tour the UK in October after postponing their planned visit next month.

Frequency Unknown tracklist

01. When Lightning Strikes
02. Running Backwards
03. Fallen
04. Life Without You
05. In The Hands Of God
06. Cold
07. The Weight Of The World
08. Slave
09. Dare
10. Everything

Bonus tracks: (2013 versions)
11. Silent Lucidity
12. Empire
13. Jet City Woman
14. I Don t Believe In Love

(via Prog)

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: