AMEN DUNES Announces “Cowboy Worship” EP for January 19th

Amen Dunes - Cowboy Worship

New York-based Amen Dunes’ has announced news of a companion EP to follow the release of his critically acclaimed album ‘Love’, which came out earlier this year via Sacred Bones.

Entitled ‘Cowboy Worship’, the forthcoming record is an attempt to give life to some of the music that played a crucial part to the creation of ‘Love’. It’s set for release on Jan 19th and new track ‘Song To The Siren’, taken from the EP, is streaming below.

Speaking about new track, Damon McMahon aka. Amen Dunes went on to say “I tried this one solo and it didn’t feel right.  Thankfully Ben lived upstairs and was up for playing.  He came down and we didn’t have to say much to each other, which was a sign it would work.  There isn’t much talking in Amen Dunes; things either flow naturally or not at all.

This track in particular, a This Mortal Coil cover of a Tim Buckley cover, is a perfect metaphor for Amen Dunes.  Tim Buckley heart within a This Mortal Coil body, which could be substituted with a Bob Dylan heart within a Throbbing Gristle body, or any similar pairing, inverted, reversed or flipped, any which way.  Solid Ying Yang.”

Amen Dunes’ Love took close to a year and a half, 16 musicians, and five different studios to complete. It was a song cycle that required broad experimentation be- fore it was clear what was essential underneath the surface. In that process, much of the sound that might have made it onto the album was lost. There was just too much to say for one record.

Cowboy Worship is an attempt to give life to some of the music that didn’t make it past the scalpel. From a blown-out version of ‘Green Eyes’ featuring Harvey Milk’s Stephen Tanner, to a darker and mellower ‘I Can’t Dig It’ as Damon McMahon originally arranged it upon writing the song in China, many of the original intentions for the music that were lost in the Love sessions are revived. In addition is a band version of Through Donkey Jaw’s ‘Lezzy Head’, featuring Dunes mainstays Jordi Wheeler and Parker Kindred, and most significantly, a shining cover of This Mortal Coil’s interpretation of the Tim Buckley classic, ‘Song to the Siren’, featuring Ben Greenberg (Hubble) on guitar.

Tim Buckley, along with several other singers, from Elvis Presley to Marvin Gaye to Tim Hardin, were the beacons that guided the making of Love. McMahon’s cover of ‘Song to the Siren’ is an homage to the spirit that directed those original sessions.

One description that seemed to work for Love was that it was an album of devotional music, and even more specifically, a type of devotional music McMahon called cowboy worship.
Cowboy Worship as a concept certainly did not begin with ‘Love’, but instead ‘Love’ began with Cowboy Worship, was born from it, and in turn added a new link to the chain.

‘Cowboy Worship’ EP track list:

  1.  I Know Myself (Montreal)
  2.  Song to the Siren
  3.  I Can’t Dig It (China Street Blues)
  4. Green Eyes (Music Blues)
  5. Lezzy Head (Burial)
  6. Love (Montreal)

Nikola Savić is a prog enthusiast, blogger and author, in addition to being the founder of Prog Sphere, Progify, ProgLyrics and the ongoing Progstravaganza compilation series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: