5R6 to Release “Islands” on September 25


Kharkiv based prog/alternative rockers, 5R6 are scheduled to release their new album titled “Islands” on September 25th.  The album is currently being master by renowned engineer Chris Common (The Mars Volta, Isis, Chelsea Wolfe, Mouth of the Architect), and was mixed completely by the band.

The concept of the album was inspired by Aldous Huxley‘s famous essay “The Doors Of Perception“, to be exact, mainly by this passage: “We live together, we act on, and react to, one another; but always and in all circumstances we are by ourselves. The martyrs go hand in hand into the arena; they are crucified alone. Embraced, the lovers desperately try to fuse their insulated ecstasies into a single self-transcendence; in vain. By its very nature every embodied spirit is doomed to suffer and enjoy in solitude. Sensations, feelings, insights, fancies–all these are private and, ex- cept through symbols and at second hand, incommunicable. We can pool information about experiences, but never the experiences themselves. From family to nation, every human group is a society of island universes.

Most island universes are sufficiently like one another to Permit of inferential understanding or even of mutual empathy or “feeling into.” Thus, remembering our own bereavements and humiliations, we can condole with others in analogous circumstances, can put ourselves (always, of course, in a slightly Pickwickian sense) in their places. But in certain cases communication between universes is incomplete or even nonexistent. The mind is its own place, and the Places inhabited by the insane and the exceptionally gifted are so different from the places where ordinary men and women live, that there is little or no common ground of memory to serve as a basis for understanding or fellow feeling. Words are uttered, but fail to enlighten. The things and events to which the symbols refer belong to mutually exclusive realms of experience.

The band comments: “All of the songs were written in time span of about 3 years, we played some of them during our live shows, and not all of them would fit into the concept of the new album. Which resulted in an outtake which we presented this year on our Bandcamp page as a single. The song is called ‘Vermin‘, written and performed live for the first time in 2012. It was mixed and mastered by Chris Rakestraw, who is known for his work with ASG, Deftones, Megadeth, Retox, Trash Talk and many others.

Islands” track listing:

1. The Ledge
2. Potion
3. This River
4. TV Snow
5. Gasping for Breath
6. The City of X.
7. Islands
5R6 are:
Igor Zubko – vocals, guitars
Kirill Brener – guitars
Eugene Zinchenko – bass
Dmitry Zinchenko – drums

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: