[Progotronics Special] Album Review: Sleeping In Traffic – Feminism

Sleeping In Traffic

Edmonton prog rockers Sleeping In Traffic returned in March this year with their second studio album titled Feminism. The 9-track record comes with a focused story-telling, remarkable songwriting and with an offer of something that separates them from the bigger part of the prog gang. The band is not shy to explore within pop, indie rock or alternative and fuse these elements with sound-defining progressive rock and metal influences.

Feminism is a concept album, what’s described by the band as: “an introduction and an invitation to this social movement.” The classic rock bits in “Forming Alliances” strip down the sound from the progressive quirkiness of the opening “Just An Echo.” Vocal performance of Cory Bosse, who also plays saxophone and provides synthwork, is one of the many highlights Feminism hides in its anatomy.


With a guitar-rich sound it falls upon the songwriting and small nuances of personality to distinguish Feminism. For what it’s worth, this album is an upbeat release full of interesting melodies and rhythms. Although the first half of the record is very attention-grabbing, it’s the second half where Sleeping In Traffic really hit their mark.

“Complacency, Our Foe” — as one of the record’s highlights — takes a bit of time to open up. The inclusion of growl vocals in this one will undoubtedly bring drawing parallels with old Opeth, and that’s not a bad thing at all. “Listen Up!” — which we know from the Progotronics 2 compilation — heats up the atmosphere; being, arguably, the most prog track on the record it closes the experiment called Feminism.

Sleeping In Traffic still have space to explore before an ultimate rocker is unleashed, and it would be interesting to see them hardening their sound (perhaps on upcoming releases?).

Feminism possesses great balance between the up-beat rock tunes polished with rock’s progressive and alternative subgenres, but what this album shows is talent of the band which certainly can bring something epic. Until then, let Feminism shows itself in its full brilliance.

Grab a copy of the album from Bandcamp here.


1. Just An Echo
2. Forming Alliances
3. Reactivist
4. Injustice System
5. Not Your Fault
6. Destroy To Rebuild!
7. Teach The Young
8. Complacency, Our Foe
9. Listen Up!


* Andrew Bateman – drums

* Ryan Berehulke – bass

* Cory Bosse – vocals/synth/sax

* Greg Turner – guitar




Official website

Cover photo by Dana Zuk Photography

%d bloggers like this: